Connecting to…
Connecting to…
Photograph of the northern wall of the Mormon temple in Mesa, Arizona


United States: Illinois

Following is a statistical profile of the state of Illinois, which includes a list of the temples, missions, stakes, and districts headquartered there.

Profile of Illinois

Number of Temples 2 Temples
Number of Missions 3 Missions
Number of Units 12 Stakes
Number of Congregations 94 Wards, 30 Branches

Temples of Illinois

Temple Dedicated
Chicago Illinois Temple August 9, 1985
Nauvoo Illinois Temple June 27, 2002

Missions of Illinois

Mission Organized
Illinois Chicago Mission July 1, 1997
Illinois Chicago West Mission July 1, 2013
Illinois Nauvoo Mission November 1, 2000

Stakes of Illinois

Unit Organized
Buffalo Grove Illinois Stake January 24, 1988
Champaign Illinois Stake February 17, 1963
Chicago Illinois Stake January 25, 1998
Joliet Illinois Stake October 22, 1995
Naperville Illinois Stake February 3, 1963
Nauvoo Illinois Stake February 18, 1979
O'Fallon Illinois Stake March 14, 1976
Peoria Illinois Stake August 3, 1980
Rockford Illinois Stake April 11, 1982
Schaumburg Illinois Stake January 20, 1980
Springfield Illinois Stake November 24, 1996
Wilmette Illinois Stake November 29, 1936
"At the temple the dust of distraction seems to settle out, the fog and the haze seem to lift, and we can 'see' things that we were not able to see before and find a way through our troubles that we had not previously known."
—Boyd K. Packer

NOT an official website of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints